Saslong Classic History

Downhill - World Cup races have been carried out in Val Gardena/Gröden since 1969. So far, 49 speed competitions have taken place â€" 44 Downhill and five Super G races.

Thirty athletes from eight nations have been winners in the Downhill, including several multiple winners such as Antoine Deneriaz, Kristian Ghedina, Franz Klammer, Peter Müller, Rob Boyd and Helmuth Höflehner. 2004 marks the first time a German athlete, Max Rauffer, took home the gold. Marco Büchel gained his first victory, on an abbreviated course, in 2005.

Super G - In Super G, the five winners include Pirmin Zurbriggen (1983) and Didier Defago (2002) from Switzerland,  Lasse Kjus (2003) from Norway, Olympia Silver Medalist Michael Walchhofer (2004) and Hans Grugger (2005) from Austria.

Double Winners - Only two athletes, Pirmin Zurbriggen and Lasse Kjus, have been able to win both the Downhill as well as the Super G. The World Cup and Olympia winner and World Champion from Switzerland won the Super G in 1983 and the Downhill in 1989. The Norwegian World Cup and Olympia winner and World Champion scored the Downhill in 1998 and the Super G in 2003.

Ranking by Nations - Austria is leading the country rankings with a total of 15 wins, followed by Switzerland with 13 and Italy with five wins. The list also includes Norway and France with three wins each, Canada and Lichtenstein with two as well as Germany with one win. In the Super G ranking, Austria and Switzerland are leading ex-equo ahead of Norway with one win.