Srecko Medven Confirmed as Club5 President in Zurich

President of Culb5 Srecko Medven

President of Culb5 Srecko Medven

Srecko Medven from Slovenia has been confirmed unanimously as the President of Club5 at the 25th Annual Meeting of the association of classic World Cup organizers which took place...

on Wednesday, April 25th in Zurich.

Mr. Medven is 57 years old and General Manager of the World Cup races in Kranjska Gora. The three Vice Presidents Stefania Demetz (Gardena/Gröden), Peter Willen (Adelboden) and Peter Fischer (Garmisch) were also confirmed in their roles. The mandate of the Steering Committee was unanimously increased from two to three years to ensure a higher continuity in the implementation of the various projects.

The other main agenda item at the Zurich meeting was the discussion of the past World Cup season. “The meeting was very constructive” stated Mr. Medven, adding: “We discussed qualitative analyses of members to further our understanding on various areas of concern.” These findings have then been addressed in a second meeting with the International Ski Federation FIS with the objective of implementing them already next year, if possible, in an effort to improve the product “AUDI FIS Ski World Cup”.

President Medven presented at strategy paper on Club5’s main goals at the Annual Meeting.
Clubt5 should open up to more World Cup organizers. The application process as based on the new rules and regulations will be addressed in three stages: affiliation, candidacy and full membership. Zagreb has submitted an application for membership in Zurich.

Club5 is planning a Work Shop in St.Moritz (CH) in the fall which will include case studies presented by the OCs on different branches of the organizations.

Club5 is currently comprised of 15 full members including Kitzbühel, Wengen, Garmisch, Val d’Isère, Gardena-Gröden, Alta Badia, Cortina d‘Ampezzo, Kranjska Gora, Maribor, Lake Louise, Schladming, Adelboden, Kvitfjell, St.Moritz and Åre.

The organization’s mission is to strengthen the Alpine racing sport, improve the quality of the events and propose consistency across existing organizations all in close cooperation with the International Ski Federation FIS.

Existing and former Presidents:
1987 - 1998     Dr. Herwig Grosch, Kitzbühel
1999 - 2003     Hubert Ostler, Garmisch
2004 - 2010     Viktor Gertsch, Wengen
2010 -         Srecko Medven, Kranjska Gora